City Council


The City of Marble Falls is a Home Rule city with a Council-Manager form of government. The City Council consists of a Mayor and six Councilmembers who are elected at large under a place system.  Each Councilmember occupies a place on the Council and is elected by plurality from all candidates running for the place by the qualified voters of the City. Each member serves a staggered two-year term. Thus, three of the members are voted on one year, with the remaining members, including the Mayor, elected the following year. Term limits are in place, which means the Mayor and Councilmembers may serve for a maximum of six years, or three consecutive terms.  Regular City Council elections are held on the second Saturday in May.

The City Council operates under the Home Rule City Charter adopted by the citizens of Marble Falls. The Council is responsible for establishing city policies, considering city ordinances and resolutions, establishing the annual budget to provide services to the public, setting the city tax rate and water and wastewater rates for Marble Falls, and approving or rejecting zoning changes.

City Council meetings are regularly held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of each month at 6:00 pm. The meetings take place in the Council Chambers located at City Hall, 800 Third Street. Special meetings are held as needed.

City Council 2014-2015

Pictured left to right:  Councilmember George “Butch” Kemper, Councilmember Richard Lewis, Councilmember Raymond Whitman, Mayor George W. Russell, Mayor Pro-Tem Jane Marie Hurst, Councilmember Ryan Nash and Councilmember Reed Norman

Mayor George W. Russell
Place 1* – Councilmember Richard Lewis
Place 2** – Mayor Pro-Tem Jane Marie Hurst
Place 3 *- Councilmember Reed Norman 
Place 4** – Councilmember George “Butch” Kemper
Place 5* - Councilmember Raymond Whitman
Place 6** – Councilmember Ryan Nash

*Term expires May 2016
**Term expires May 2015

Click on name to send email.

Mail for the Mayor and Councilmembers should be addressed to:
City of Marble Falls
800 Third Street
Marble Falls, TX  78654

To determine the elected officials who represent you on the State and Federal level click here.