Peddler/Solicitor/Vendor Permit Requirements

The following is a list of documents required to be submitted to the City Secretary for consideration of a permit.  

  • Completed Application
  • Agreement to grant permission for use of private property form
  • Notice of Peddler/Solicitor/Vendors Ordinances Regulations  - Signed by Applicant
  • Site Plan of Subject Property -  Site plan must indicate where the vendor will be located in relation to property lines, adjacent right-of-way, adjacent buildings, and the location of two 9x18 foot onsite parking spaces with a 20-foot backup lane.  Permit will not be issued if it results in a reduction in the number of required parking spaces serving an existing business.  Any device used for the display or storage of articles offered for sale by a peddler/solicitor/vendor must be located at least ten (10) feet away from all other property lines adjacent to a street. 
  • Current copy of Vehicle's Proof of Liability Insurance if motor vehicle will be used in soliciting/peddling/vending.
  • Current copy of State of Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit, including written documentation from the State Comptroller that all sales tax that may be due and owing by the vendor has been paid in full.
    The following are exempt from having to present a Sales and Use Tax Permit:
    1. Any peddler or vendor engaged in interstate commerce.
    2. Farmers who sell agricultural products that were raised or grown by them.
    3. Nonprofit organizations.
    4. Any other business or activity exempt by the Texas State Comptroller from collecting state sales tax.
  • Current copy of Mobile Food Vendor License or Roadside Food Vendor License issued by the State of Texas Department of Health Services for vendors engaged in the sale or distribution of food or beverages.
    The following are exempt from having to present a State of Texas Mobile Food Vendor License or Roadside Food Vendor License:
  1. Farmers who sell agricultural products that were raised or grown by them.
  2. Nonprofit organizations.
  • PERMIT FEES (valid for the calendar year in which the permit is issued):
One person - $50.00 Two (2) or more persons - $100.00

Please note that a copy of the application for permit will be referred to the Chief of Police who will undertake an investigation of the applicant’s record and background such as shall be reasonably necessary to protect the public.  An application for permit may be reasonably denied if applicant is currently wanted on warrant for arrest, or if the applicant has been convicted of a felony involving theft, fraud, bribery, or perjury.

Determination shall be made within five (5) working days of receipt of this application.  Incomplete applications will not be accepted.